top of page


The 2024 Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame Banquet is just around the corner, and it's promising to be an event to remember.

Hosted by the Rapid City Sports Association, this year's banquet, scheduled for Monday, May 6 at Lacroix Hall in The Monument, is set to honor seven outstanding individuals who have left an indelible mark on the local sports scene. And guess what? You're invited to be a part of this celebration!

“This is going to be a great night and this banquet will highlight outstanding athletes, coaches and contributors to Rapid City sports,” said Domico Rodriguez, Executive Director of the Rapid City Sports Commission. “Recognizing these individuals for their accomplishments is truly something to celebrate and we invite locals to attend and be part of this celebration.”

So, who are the stars of the evening? Let's take a closer look at the remarkable individuals who will be inducted into the Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame this year:

  • Alyssa Burke: College Female Athlete of the Year from Dakota Wesleyan University.

  • Jackson Wilson: College Male Athlete of the Year representing Rocky Mountain College.

  • Mike Albin: Marathon Runner and Hall of Fame Athlete.

  • Shane Van Boening: Professional Pool Player and Hall of Fame Athlete.

  • Bryan Brewer Sr.: Founder of Lakota Invitational Basketball Tournament, earning him a spot as a Hall of Fame Contributor.

  • Patty Fanter: United States Bowling Coach, also recognized as a Hall of Fame Contributor.

  • Pam Junek: Gymnastic Coach at Rapid City Central for 13 years, securing her place as a Hall of Fame Coach.

The Rapid City Sports Association will also crown the high school "Male Athlete of the Year" and "Female Athlete of the Year" for 2024, all hailing from Rapid City high schools. These winners, nominated based on their exceptional performance and district/state awards throughout their high school careers, will be announced during the banquet.

High school male athlete of the year nominees include:

  • Peyton Cast (Douglas High School) – Cross Country/Track

  • Conner Warren (Rapid City Central) – Soccer/Football/Basketball/Track

  • Wilson Kieffer (Rapid City Christian) – Football/Basketball/Post 22 Baseball

  • Luther Busching (Rapid City Stevens) – Soccer

  • Lee Neugebauer (St. Thomas More) – Football/Basketball/Baseball

High school female athlete of the year nominees include:

  • Bailey Clark (Douglas High School) – Volleyball/Basketball/Track

  • Jada Backes (Rapid City Central) – Soccer/Track

  • Allison Hill (Rapid City Christian) – Tennis

  • Grace Uhre (Rapid City Stevens) – Cross Country/Track

  • Megan Lee (St. Thomas More) – Volleyball/Basketball/Track/Golf

The public is welcome to this event and we encourage you to join us at this year's banquet. Tickets are available at the door for just $30.


bottom of page